Front of House
Tips for launching and selling ImpossibleTM menu items
(Tell your customers)
"Delicious Meat. Made from Plants."
Impossible™ products are meat made from plants, for people who love eating meat. Their meaty texture and delicious taste satisfy cravings from meat, without all of the health and environmental impacts.
Make sure your staff knows that Impossible™ dishes aren’t made for vegans, they’re made for everyone! Have them try a sample for themselves -- one bite and they’ll see what the buzz is about.
How to Highlight ImpossibleTM Menu Items
Meat-eaters don’t love “veggie burgers” or “fake meat,” so we recommend avoiding those words on your menu. Try describing it as "delicious meat made from plants" instead. Want more tips? Check out our free menu guidelines.
(ON THE SAME PAGE)
TRAINING YOUR STAFF
Your staff are your biggest brand ambassadors. Equip them with the talking points they need to sell more Impossible menu items. Download our talking point guides and quizzes. We have one for each of our products: Impossible™ Beef Made From Plants and Impossible™ Sausage Made From Plants, as well as for our newest products, Impossible™ Chicken Nuggets Made From Plants, Impossible™ Pork Made From Plants and Impossible™ Meatballs Made From Plants.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:
HOW DOES IMPOSSIBLE FOODS MAKE MEAT FROM PLANTS?
Soy protein is the primary ingredient in each of our products. They also contain coconut and sunflower oil (for that special sizzle), essential vitamins and nutrients (for added nutrition) and most contain heme (the “magic ingredient” that makes meat taste like meat). Click here to learn more about heme.(opens in a new tab)
For a full breakdown of each product’s ingredients, check out the FOH guides listed above.
DO IMPOSSIBLE PRODUCTS HAVE ALLERGENS?
All Impossible products contain soy and coconut oil (the FDA classifies coconuts as tree nuts for food labeling purposes, but refined coconut oil is not considered an allergen). Our products do not contain dairy, eggs, fish, peanuts or shellfish, and are safe for those with alpha-gal syndrome. Some of our products also contain wheat.
DO IMPOSSIBLE PRODUCTS HAVE ANY CERTIFICATIONS?
Impossible™ Beef is certified Gluten Free, Halal and Kosher. Impossible™ Meatballs are certified Gluten Free. Impossible™ Sausage is certified Gluten Free, Halal and Kosher. Impossible™ Pork is certified Gluten Free.
ARE IMPOSSIBLE PRODUCTS CHILD-NUTRITION LABELED?
Impossible Burger and Impossible Sausage are Child-Nutrition labeled.
HOW MUCH OF AN ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT DO IMPOSSIBLE PRODUCTS MAKE?
Impossible products use significantly less land, water and generate lower greenhouse gases than their animal counterparts. To learn more about our mission, check out our sustainability page(opens in a new tab), or head over to our impact calculator(opens in a new tab) to calculate your impact and share with your guests!
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN IMPOSSIBLE PORK AND IMPOSSIBLE BURGER?
Like beef, Impossible Beef(opens in a new tab) is very flavor-forward and bold in any build, from burgers to steak tartare. It contains a higher concentration of heme and a firmer texture to mimic ground beef. Animal pork is characterized by its subtlety, fatty texture and delicate flavor profile. Impossible Pork Made From Plants has a more neutral flavor profile and supple mouthfeel to bring out the flavors of Latin and Asian - inspired dishes.
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN IMPOSSIBLE PORK AND IMPOSSIBLE SAUSAGE?
Impossible Sausage(opens in a new tab) comes in pre-formed, perfectly seasoned and fully cooked patties that are perfect for adding to breakfast items or lunch/dinner items calling for ground animal pork sausage. Popular applications include breakfast sandwiches, breakfast burritos, pizza topping and biscuits with gravy.
Impossible Pork Made From Plants(opens in a new tab) comes in a 2.2lb bulk package, has a classically neutral flavor, and is suited for any recipe that calls for ground pork. Popular menu items include meatballs, dumplings, tacos, shumai and spaghetti bolognese.
WHAT IS THE SCIENCE BEHIND IMPOSSIBLE PRODUCTS?
Meat is just a combination of protein, fats and flavors. We make Impossible meat made from plants the same way, but we use plant-based ingredients instead of animals. And that takes some work behind the scenes. Learn more about the science behind our products(opens in a new tab).
HOW ARE IMPOSSIBLE PRODUCTS DIFFERENT FROM OTHER PLANT-BASED MEATS?
Impossible products are meat made from plants, for meat eaters. Our products weren’t made with vegetarians or vegans in mind, so they taste different from any other ‘plant-based meat’ on the market.
The secret to our mouthwatering products is heme, a molecule found in all living things (both plants and animals) that gives meat its unmistakably meaty flavor. Our heme is made using a yeast genetically engineered with the gene for soy leghemoglobin. We produce it by fermenting the yeast (similar to how some cheeses and wines are made). Learn more about heme here.(opens in a new tab)